Harry and Meghan’s Business Woes: A Royal Author’s Warning


Trouble Brewing for Harry and Meghan’s Business Ventures

Fans of Prince Harry and Meghan Markle have been treated to a steady stream of bad news lately, and now a royal author has added to their worries. The couple, who left royal life in 2020 seeking a peaceful existence away from the public eye, seem to be struggling with their public relations.

Since the release of Harry’s memoir, Spare, last year, the couple has faced a barrage of negative press. Their Netflix deal is nearing its end, and they need to secure new projects to land a new contract with Netflix or another streaming platform. Their Spotify deal has been canceled, and their foundation, Archewell, is not bringing in the donations it once did.

Royal author Martha McGinnis, author of 10 Lessons from Harry & Meghan, believes the couple is in a precarious financial position. She worries that their business expenses are outpacing their income. “I think that they’re going to have a very hard road ahead of them,” McGinnis told the Express. “I think that they put themselves in a very bad position, in which their overhead is more than their income-earning potential at the moment.”

A Deep Dive into Harry and Meghan’s Income Sources

Last summer, the BBC conducted an in-depth investigation into Harry and Meghan’s sources of income. They found that the couple earns money from Archewell (though the Spotify deal has ended), Netflix (which ends next year), books, and a category simply labeled “other.” The “other” category includes Harry’s role as Chief Impact Officer at BetterUp, a company that calls itself the Human Transformation Platform.

Netflix Exec Hints at New Projects for Harry and Meghan

There is some hope for Harry and Meghan, as Netflix Chief Content Officer Bela Bajaria has hinted at new projects in the works. Bajaria told Deadline that the couple is working on a scripted series, two unscripted series, and a movie with Netflix. They have also acquired the rights to Carley Fortune’s book Meet Me at the Lake, which could potentially be adapted into a movie.

It remains to be seen whether these new projects will be enough to save Harry and Meghan’s business ventures. But one thing is for sure: the couple is facing some serious financial challenges.